Tag Archives: Sunshine Coast Back

Mount Coolum Beach Estate: 2nd section, 1923 (Map of the Week)

Mt. Coolum Beach Estate : 2nd section, 1923. John Oxley Library, State Library of Queensland

State Library of Queensland has an extensive collection of historical maps of Queensland, some of which have been digitised and can be viewed online. This real estate map from 1923 advertises 100 allotments of land for sale at the Mt Coolum Beach Estate (2nd section) on the Sunshine Coast. The allotments were situated along Coolum Terrace, Scrub … Read more

Discovering Eumundi – Heritage and Visitor Centre

Guests attend the official opening of the Discover Eumundi building extension in May, 2015. Courtesy of Discover Eumundi.

Guest Blogger: Discover Eumundi – Sunshine Coast Region Series: Changing Landscapes The Eumundi and District Historical Association (EHA) which runs Discover Eumundi Heritage and Visitor Centre successfully obtained a ‘Building Our Future’ Australian Government Community Development Grant in 2014 to create a multi-purpose community space designed to be used for workshops, community meetings, exhibitions, arts … Read more

Climbing the Mountains

Guest Blogger: Peachester History Committee – Sunshine Coast Region Series: Changing Landscapes While those of us who live in Glasshouse Country may take them for granted, the Glasshouse Mountains have always been a focus of interest and speculation. Professor Michael Meadows from Griffith University is an avid mountain climber and scholar who has made a … Read more

Bankfoot House

William Grigor and Mary Fenwick Grigor Negative number: 196160 John Oxley Library, State Library of Queensland

Guest Blogger : Friends of Bankfoot House Sunshine Coast Region Series: Changing Landscapes Bankfoot House, a heritage residence in the Glass House Mountains, was established along Old Gympie road in 1868 by William and Mary Grigor. It was a rest stop for the Cobb and Co Coach Service between Brisbane and the Gympie goldfields and … Read more

An Important Bridge

Opening of the Stanley River Bridge, Peachester, October 1923. Mrs Elizabeth Grigor is cutting the ribbon. Collection of Peachester History Committee

Guest Blogger : Peachester History Committee Sunshine Coast Region Series: Changing Landscapes The Stanley River at Peachester is normally a quiet and unremarkable stream. Travelers who pass through the township would barely notice the river, and almost certainly take the bridge for granted. It is only during ‘severe weather events’, like the flooding rains in January … Read more