Man Booker Literary Prize shortlist announced

The Booker Prize 2019 logo

The Booker Prize for Fiction is an annual prize open to writers of any nationality, writing in English and published in the UK or Ireland between 1 October 2018 and 30 September 2019. The prize shines a spotlight on the best of English fiction and has a huge influence over the reception of literary works around the world.

This year Judge Chairman Peter Florence at the British Library called the titles “refreshingly diverse “. He said that the books “teem with life, with a profound and celebratory humanity”. (BBC)

The two biggest names on the shortlist list are Margaret Atwood’s as yet unpublished sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale and Salman Rushdie’s modern take on Don Quixote. Other writers are from, UK India, Canada and United States UK.

Man looking through books standing between library shelves

Above: Photo by Dollar Gill on Unsplash

Shortlisted titles are

Margaret Atwood (Canada), The Testaments (Vintage, Chatto & Windus)

Lucy Ellmann (USA/UK), Ducks, Newburyport (Galley Beggar Press)

Bernardine Evaristo (UK), Girl, Woman, Other (Hamish Hamilton)

Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria), An Orchestra of Minorities (Little Brown)

Salman Rushdie (UK/India), Quichotte (Jonathan Cape)

Elif Shafak (UK/Turkey), 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World (Viking)

More info

The Booker Prizes offer libraries a range of opportunities to get involved with the prize. Visit the Readers’ guides page for downloadable readers’ guides sheets. A poster for the shortlist available soon.

The winner of this year’s Booker Prize will be announced on 14 October 2019.