Speech Pathology Book of the Year Awards 2019

Winners Announced 1 November 2019

The Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards promote children’s books as literacy tools and raise awareness of the role speech pathologists play helping children develop language and literacy skills. The awards honour quality Australian children’s literature and encourage a love of reading.


Literacy is based on good oral language skills. The Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards promote quality Australian books that help children get the best, most literate start in life. Books are awarded for Best Book for Language and Literacy Development in the following categories:
• Birth to 3 years
• 3 to 5 years
• 5 to 8 years
• 8 to 10 years
• Indigenous Children.

Each book is judged on its appeal to children, interactive quality and ability to assist speech pathologists and parents in communication and literacy development.

Selection criteria for the Book of the Year Awards

Shortlisted titles

Some shortlisted titles

Above Titles in the Birth to three category

Above Titles in the Three to five category

Above Titles in the Five to eight category

Above Titles in the Indigenous and Eight to ten category

Poster coming soon
A poster featuring the winning title in each category will be available on the website after the awards are announced in November. Let your community know about these great titles by printing and displaying the poster in your library.

More information
Visit the website for even more Resources for the public including Information Sheets: Helping Your Baby to Talk; The Sound of Speech 0 – 3; Speech Pathology and Indigenous Children and many more.

For tips to support the development of language and early literacy subscribe to the First 5 Forever Facebook page.