Walkley Book Awards shortlist

Three shortlisted titles were selected as finalists in the 2019 Walkley Book Awards.

The titles are:

• Gabrielle Chan, Rusted Off
• Jess Hill, See What You Made Me Do
• Leigh Sales, Any Ordinary Day. Available as a book club set from State Library.

Three book covers in a row. From left to right. Rusted Off by Gabrielle Chan, See What you Made me Do by Jess Hill and Any Ordinary Day by Leigh Sales.

The Walkley Book Award celebrates Australian writers who take enduring subjects from news, eyewitness accounts, investigations and history. Their books bring readers immersive detail, clear analysis and new revelations.

The Walkley Foundation’s mission is to benchmark the best in Australian journalism, engage both media and the public in valuing and supporting journalism, and invest in programs that support journalism.

The peer-judged Walkley Awards are the pinnacle of achievement for any Australian journalist. Walkley Award-winning stories have always chronicled Australia’s history, people and events.

The 65 books entered for this year’s award cover subject matter from true crime, politics and war to memoir, biography and investigative journalism.

Longlist finalists for the 2019 Walkley Book Award are:

• Gabrielle Chan, Rusted Off
• Adele Ferguson, Banking Bad
• Ean Higgins, The Hunt for MH370
• Jess Hill, See What You Made Me Do
• Damon Kitney, The Price of Fortune
• Patrick Mullins, Tiberius with a Telephone
• Andrew Rule, Winx: The Authorised Biography
• Leigh Sales, Any Ordinary Day
• Matthew Warren, Blackout

The winner of the 2019 Walkley Book Award will be announced at the 64th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism 28 November 2019. Let your members know about these great works.